An Unexpected Journey

It is final now. I am about to move to Sweden for work later this year. I’ve got a job in Stockholm and, after months of deliberations, have finally accepted it. It wasn’t an easy decision as one needs to consider a lot of things. Salary, experience, economy, language, etc. For those of you who have gone through such a phase, I hope you will understand what I must be going through.

It was unexpected, to be frank. Up until a few months back, working in Sweden didn’t even cross my mind. Other things kept me occupied. My job back here in India. My life. My family. My books. That I would take up an unexpected offer to give all that up and work in Sweden, I had never imagined.

Let me say at the outset that I have heard many good and bad things about Sweden and so I don’t really know for sure what to expect. They say the grass always looks greener on the other side. True! But you never really know what lies on the other side unless you cross over to the side.

Honestly? I am scared. I am frightened. I am also equally thrilled.

As I prepare for the move, many thoughts enter my mind. How will it go? Will I like the country? True, I’ve visited Sweden before and spent a good amount of time there, but never really contemplated living there with a job. Will I be able to learn their language? Will I be accepted in the Swedish society? Is my salary good enough? Will I start hating the country after one round of its harsh winters?

I don’t know but I am ready to find out.

I am starting this blog to capture my thoughts, ideas, fears, and other experiences that I will be gathering as I prepare for my move. I will also post helpful resources that I gather during this phase. And later, as I start to settle down, I will share my experiences, comments and suggestions. I hope this blog will prove helpful for others who are planning to move to Sweden as well.

Have you moved to Sweden already? I would love to hear your experience. Do leave me your comments here.

Leave a comment